The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

At St Joseph’s Catholic Primary we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum.

In the EYFS we will teach:

  • Through the three prime areas of learning: Personal, Social and Emotional development; Communication and Language; and Physical Development
  • Along with four specific areas of learning:  Literacy; Mathematics; Expressive Arts and Design; and Understanding the World


We will promote learning through creating an engaging, positive environment whilst providing a wide opportunity for your child to learn through fun, purposeful play. At each stage of your child’s development, their teacher will identify the stage they are on through observations and will then support them to progress further at their own pace.  Reception and Nursery learn through a mixture of adult–led and child initiated learning, both of which are important in your child’s development. 

The Reception and Nursery teachers plan the learning opportunities through topics and themes (see our Parent Planners).  Our learning objectives are planned in both the outdoor and classroom environments.  Please see the newsletters below for an overview of what is taught each half-term.


Please click on the links below for more information:

EYFS Curriculum EYFS Profile


EYFS Policy

Nursery Curriculum Overview

Nursery End of Year Expectations

Reception Curriculum Overview

Reception End of Year Expectations

Nursery's Knowledge Organisers and Assessments

Reception's Knowledge Organisers and Assessments